National Resources - General


What's New! | About Us | News and Events | For Parents | For Young People with Disabilities | For Teachers | For Service Providers | Early Intervention | Library | Local Resources | National Resources - Disability Specific | National Resources - General | Help | Contact Us

National Resources of a general nature, not specific to any disability

National Council on Disabilities Logo

The National Council on Disability (NCD) is an independent federal agency making recommendations to the President and Congress on issues affecting 54 million Americans with disabilities. NCD is composed of 15 members appointed by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. In its 1986 report "Toward Independence", NCD first proposed that Congress should enact a civil rights law for people with disabilities. In 1990, the Americans with Disabilities Act was signed into law.

NCD's overall purpose is to promote policies, programs, practices, and procedures that guarantee equal opportunity for all individuals with disabilities, regardless of the nature or severity of the disability; and to empower individuals with disabilities to achieve economic self-sufficiency, independent living, and inclusion and integration into all aspects of society.

Horizontal Divider 16

Disability and Business Technical and Assistance Centers

     The National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR) of the U.S. Department of Education has established ten regional Disability and Business Technical Assistance Centers (DBTACs) to provide information, training, and technical assistance to employers, people with disabilities, and other entities with responsibilities under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
     The centers act as a "one stop" central, comprehensive resource on ADA issues in employment, public services, public accommodations, and communications.  Each center works closely with local business, disability, governmental, rehabilitation, and other professional networks to provide ADA information and assistance, placing special emphasis on meeting the needs of small business.  Programs vary in each region, but all centers provide:
  • Technical assistance
  • Education and training
  • Materials dissemination
  • Information and referral
  • Public awareness
  • Local capacity building

     Indiana and Illinois are located in Region 5 of the U.S.  Information for this region is given below.  Links to the other 9 regions are also provided.



REGION 5 (IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI) †††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† REGION 4 (AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN)

Great Lakes DBTAC†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Southeast DBTAC

University of Illinois / Chicago††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††

Department on Disability and ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††

†††† Human Development†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† REGION 6 (AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)

1640 West Roosevelt Rd.†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Southwest DBTAC

Chicago, IL 60608††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††

(312) 413-1407 (V/TDD)

(312) 413-1856 (FAX)††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† REGION 7 (IA, KS, MO, NE)

email:††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Great Plains DBTAC

web site:††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††


REGION 1 (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††† REGION 8 (CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY)

New England DBTAC†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Rocky Mountain DBTAC††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††


REGION 2 (NJ, NY, PR, VI)††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† REGION 9 (AZ, CA, HI, NV, PACIFIC BASIN)

Northeast DBTAC††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Pacific DBTAC††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††


REGION 3 (DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV)†††††††††††††† ††††††††††† REGION 10 (AK, ID, OR, WA)

Mid-Atlantic DBTAC†††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† Northwest DBTAC††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††




Horizontal Divider 16

Alliance for Technology Access Centers

The Alliance for Technology Access (ATA) began in 1987 as a joint project of a grass-roots organization, the Disabled Children

The Alliance for Technology Access (ATA) began in 1987 as a joint project of a grass-roots organization, the Disabled Childrenís Computer Group, and a major Corporation, Apple Computers.From this group of parents, consumers, and professionals, the ATA has grown into one of the nationís largest resources to help children and adults who have disabilities gain access to the benefits of adaptive technology.


The ATAís most important means of promoting technology access may be its nationwide network of community-based assistive technology resources centers.ATA centers work with a wide variety of individuals and organizations and have no eligibility criteria for determining who may receive service.Most centers provide hands-on consultations, product demonstrations, make recommendations and referrals, and present workshops on technology use.


The ATA center for Indiana is Assistive Technology Training and Information Center (ATTIC).For information on ATTIC and the National office, click on the links below.


Alliance for Technology Access†††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ATTIC†††††† †††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††



Enter supporting content here